rant - July 12, 2006
yeah! - June 01, 2006
work sucks - April 08, 2006
johari/nohari - February 18, 2006
top ten trivia - February 08, 2006

The first 6 of 100

February 02, 2005 - 2:16 pm

Note to self: Read Buddhababy more extensively at some point. Kick ass banner ad, and good taste in books.

Wow, I love other people's diaries. Today I saw a cute banner and clicked and found myself here, reading about and then joining 100 Books in 2005 which is pretty exciting. I already have a list of six books, and there may be more but I can't remember what I was reading when the New Year happened, and since I do remember that I was in a stage of rereading Heinlein future-history stuff, I can just leave it off. I think six is still pretty good for four weeks work. And now I can update each time I finish a book, but for now I get to do six at once.

Reading Lolita in Tehran by Azar Nafisi
I got this for Christmas from Noah's mom, and it was really interesting reading. In fact, I think I talked about it in here at some point in here. It was moving. And I was fascinated by how easily Nafisi combined and integrated a history of her country with all its violence and fanaticism with a discussion and realy appreciation of good literature. She described a terrible time with beautiful words and memories, and conveyed a love for her country and a feeling of loss at its betrayal while intertwinging the meaning with the plots of her favorite books. Freat stuff.

Mansfield Park
This started my little Jane austen obsession. Shamefully, I realized that I had only read Emma and then, though I loved that book, left Austen alone. So I decded to change that. This book is great. I love Austen basically invented the plot layout for modern romance novels, but in comparison to modern romance novelists, she can actually write. The satire is beautiful and sharp, and the sappy parts REALLY get me. This one is different from her others, which I didn't realize at first, but now I appreciate the uniquness of Fanny's plain qualities and detached familial relationship. She messaed around a bit with her formula, so good for Jane.

Pride and Prejudice
I love this book. It totally deserves all the hype. I read it and loved every word and nuance. The banter between Elizabeth and Mr. Darcy is brilliant and gets me going, totally. It's a much sharper relationship than Austen usually portrays, and I like that, as I tend to be a little sharp myself. And Elizabeth is my favorite Austen woman, because she understands propriety and the demands of society, and that makes her more able to push the envelope. So I read it, and then I rented the Colin Firth movie, and now I love them both.

Sense and Sensibility
The last of my Austen triad. For a while I thought it was my least favorite, but now I'm not sure. There's less meat, for sure. It's a simpler, less detailed story when you focus on the main characters. But there are more side characters, and a little more intrigue. Austen always has one last twist, but this one was a little more unexpected than others. Maybe a little less exciting, but good writing and solid characters.

Overall, I should say I am glad I finally read these books because now I can be a true Austen fan.

Love by Toni Morrison
I have read all of her books, and I have not yet been disappointed. Most of her books leave me with a melancholy feeling. Almost hopelessness, but then there's a flash of something greater than what you were hoping for in the first place. I like that she tells the truth, even if it hurts. And I like the melancholy feeling, because then I know I have been affected. Also her command of words is amazing. All the meanings and all the sounds match perfectly. So anyway, this one was a little less melancholy, a little more intrigue, which I thought was cool. But she still made me cry.

A Widow for One Year by John Irving
Wow, do I love John Irving. I have been reading him since before it was really appropriate for someone of that age to be reading some of his scenes. His books also tend to have a tinge of tragedy and sadness, but he manages to give them a comic turn which, in turn, makes the overall flavor a little morbid. I like it. And this, I think was one of my favorites of his overall. I think I taked about this one in here too, so I won't spend forever. Suffice it to say, he knows how to capture people in a rare and intricate way.

I wish I had theses books with me, so I could quote them. I think I like books where people use bizarre circumstances to show the realness of people within those circumstances. I should learn to write that way.

Yeah, sure.

Anyway, right now I am rereading The Great Gatsby. Ana, I totally get the F. Scott lovin'. :)

Well, I guess that's all for now. Off to do some more readin.

Ahh! Why do my links not look like link. Buddhababy, here and 100 Books in 2005 are links. Click them, go crazy!!

Word Of The Day: book

Any Music On? I should really change this question

Rating Of The Day (1-5): 4 I have no class tonight!!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!