rant - July 12, 2006
yeah! - June 01, 2006
work sucks - April 08, 2006
johari/nohari - February 18, 2006
top ten trivia - February 08, 2006

talking about grandmothers

January 18, 2005 - 10:03 am

I skipped another day yesterday. Things are not boding well for thw big 200 day.

Yesterday I took the day off from work and Noah and I drove up north to visit his grandmother. He's been really worried about her lately...she 91 and has been in the hospital a few times lately, and his mother, in an attempt to protect him I think, finds it hard to be straight with him about it. So we went, and she looks great. She made us lunch. We talked about what was going on in the news. She's sharp as can be, and still living mainly on her own, in an assisted living facility. So he feel better now. And it was fun to see her, and to look at all kinds of pictures. She has three grandkids and a few greats, but most of the album was Noah. Cute baby Noah pictures!! Yay!!
And the road trip was great. Three hours each way gave us a lot of uninterrupted talk time, which we always love. So all around a great trip.

It made me miss my Memere a lot. She died just a little while before Andy, and I never had time to concentrate on her loss because of everything going on with Andy at the time. I didn't get to go to her funeral. The last time I saw her she was on oxygen and had a home health nurse (who I had words with), and I avoided lunch with them because my Uncle came. She missed me a lot, and I never did a very good job of transitioning to an adult relationship wit her. I miss her a lot now. We had a lot of good times together when I was growing up. For all the negative things I can be heard to say about my family sometimes, there has always been a lot of love. And surrounded by people who would ask if they told me they loved too much, I still can say that there was a disctinction in the amount of love and security she gave to me. She married my grandfather only because an interesting set of circumstances led to his lying about his name until she had already fallen in love; she hated the name Alphonse, so it's a good thing he lied. But she already loved him when she found out the truth. Her whole life was about love.

She was my last grandparent, as Grandma is Noah's. So I can imagine what he's feeling about her getting sick. And I had four great grandparents. He only ever had two, because his dad's parents...well, they weren't around. Our kids will have six. Grandma and Grandpa Bright, Grandma and Grandpa Shepard, and Memere and Foster. What will they call Foster? I'll wait on that one. Anyway, the more grandparents, the better.

On a lighter note, I found a funny website, due to seeing a funny billboard. www.fightbigovercoat.org
It's funny stuff.

Man, I will be so happy when this job is over and I am back on the floor. Although, I will miss the daily internet access.

Word Of The Day: discombobulated. it's cool.

Any Music On? passing voices

Rating Of The Day (1-5): 3

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!