rant - July 12, 2006
yeah! - June 01, 2006
work sucks - April 08, 2006
johari/nohari - February 18, 2006
top ten trivia - February 08, 2006

West Bend weekend...a long one

2002-04-10 - 1:14 p.m.

So it's Wednesday and I haven't gotten around to updating and talking about my weekend yet, which is a clue to how busy work has been. It's really cool, actually. I've had a three mile long daily goal list every day, and I'm almost caught up. My immediate boss, Messeret, has given me a thousand compliments in the last three days, and the big boss, Leah, left me a cool note in my mailbox today to tell me I'm doing well. I feel really amazingly good about myself right now. Of course, I don't have a nurse for a pm shift tomorrow yet, so we'll see. I also haven't learned Portuguese. :)

So the weekend was good, all around, although there were a few snags. Friday Noah and I left right after work and we had a great ride. We can talk about anything and everything for hours, so we're never bored. We did get a little lost but it was no big deal. So we got to West Bend and met up with Kellie and her boy at Muddy's, the newest restaurant in West Bend. There was live music which was really good...a guy and a chick with acoustic guitar and random noise making tools singing everything from Spin Doctors to Janis Joplin. The woman really did Janis justice, and she reminded me of Aimee at 40, but different. Anyway, we all seemed to get along really well, as it was the first time that Noah and I met Michael. And Kellie and I were all happy to see each other. But right away she gave me a subject I wasn't supposed to bring up around Michael, which is odd, because I never do. At least I don't think so. Anyway, then we moved bars and Michael was all drunk so Kellie took him upstairs to her apartment. While she was gone, Noah and I were talking and the whole bar disappeared. Cliche, yes, but true. We have this uncanny ability to be the only people in the room whenever we talk. That was favorite part of the weekend.

On Saturday we all got up and went to lunch at Januli's because Michael was working and we wanted to see him. Then Noah and I headed off to storage land. But there was a friggin overlock on the door and I couldn't get in, which pissed me off because i paid for two months last time I was in town. So I called the emergency number and got an answering machine. Good thing it wasn't a real emergency. I left a bitchy message and off we went to meet up with Kellie. We decided to go drive go-carts. That was amusing. Noah is 6'10" for those who don't know. He got in that thing and his knees were up his nose. The two guys working there (good cop and bad cop -- it must be tiring to repeat the same speech three million times today to a bunch of rowdy kids) were really amused by Noah and they made his car go faster. Kellie still won. We made a kid cry because we passed him so many times. I haven't decided if that's really funny or not.

Then we played air hockey in the arcade and I kicked both their butts! Hey, you got to be good at something.

When we got back out to the car I had a message from the storage guy, who was all pissy when I called him back. He said if he came out and I did have a balance he would just leave again. I was kind of freaking out about it. I went all the way out there to do the storage thing and I didn't really want to do it in the first place, but if I was going to go out there just to waste the weekend. But Noah saved the day. First he said that the weekend wouldn't be wasted because we were having fun. That was especially cool because I knew that he hadn't really wanted to go in the first place and had done really only for me. Then he took me to the storage place and had me stay in the car while he smoothed it out with the guy. He's really good at that kind of thing. So we got in, but by then we didn't have much time before Saturday night plans kicked in, so we gawked at the crazy piles of crap that are my belongings for a while and left.

We had dinner at Simon's, which rocked. And we were planning on going to Milwaukee to the clubs, then I realized I had left my ID in Minnesota. That's smart. Michael used to work at the gay bar we were planning on going to, so he called his boss and we worked out a deal. So we ended up going anyway and we had fun, but it made things all weird. I won't go into it here. Yet again was Noah cool, though. Because I was kind of stressed about the whole thing and felt really bad, but Noah said it wasn't my fault. I reminded him that it was, in fact, me who forgot the ID, and he was all "You forgot your ID, it's not like it's a character flaw." I felt better. He proceeded to get all drunk that night, while I drooled over gay men making out on dance floors. There was this guy in only a thong who did a dance, and I almost stuffed a doallr in his thong. Noah was going to give me a dollar, but every time someone gave him money he danced with them and I didn't want that kind of involvement, you know? And Noah and I both got hugged by a Nathan Lane-like drag queen who called us "pineapple" and told me I was beautiful. He bragged about it for days. "I got hugged by a drag queen!" He cracks me up.

So yeah, Sunday we finally got to the storage. We went in and I climbed like a monkey all around the place. I got all my clothes and videos, and random other stuff, but left most of it alone. It's a daunting project, on so many levels. I know Noah felt weird a bit, and I don't blame him. I spent a lot of time trying to not remember what I was doing and why my stuff was there. THat was unproductive...it's going to make it even harder next time I take the plunge. One step at a time, I suppose. I really don't want most of that stuff. I found Andy's miniatures, but I didn't open the box yet. I feel all stupid about the whole thing, really. Like I should have no right to be sad about it anymore. The whole thing sucks.

Anyway, I got rid of a lot of clothes, which makes me feel good. Andy used to make fun of me because every time I said I was going to go through my clothes I would get rid of one or two things. But this time I got rid of like six trash bags worth, so good for me. Noah and I are all about being minimalist. Sometime I'll tell you the Spooner plan.

So then we said goodbye to Kellie and took off back to Minnesota. The ride back became my new favorite part of the trip. We talked a lot again, and we got lost once and ended up at a dead end right onthe river. It was dusk, a little foggy, and drizzling. So we got out of the car and stood for a while. Good moment.

Since then I've done umpteen loads of laundry, and we've been integrating my stuff into the apartment. He's doing really well fitting me into his life, no rough edges. He had to clean out a closet for me and it was full of hard core ex type stuff, so we both had an element of that that weekend. I was glad I was there for that, he needed hugs. And to throw those things away.

Wow, this is a long entry. And probably not even that interesting. Oh well, it was a long weekend. And now that I have wasted twenty minutes typing, I should really get back to work. Oh! Thanks to jillyfae for letting me stay there...it'll be fun, no worries. I can't wait to meet the puppy! And you do have a handsome husband! Love you both.

What do you think? Should I give Noah this address? What's the difference between you guys and him? Good question.

Word Of The Day:

Any Music On?

Rating Of The Day (1-5):

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!