rant - July 12, 2006
yeah! - June 01, 2006
work sucks - April 08, 2006
johari/nohari - February 18, 2006
top ten trivia - February 08, 2006

good weekend!

2003-03-24 - 3:57 p.m.

Well, hello there! Good to see you again!

I'm feeling much better than I was last time I wrote. I told you, it goes in cycles, and I guess I'm back on an upswing. It probably has a lot to do with having had a stellar weekend. I definitely caught up on all my sleep, which is a definite positive. Saturday I got the apartment pretty clean, surface wise anyway. I worked on some of my projects, which felt good. Than Drew, who was in the city for the weekend, and Jaime came over and we went out to dinner at Don Pablo's. That was super fun. And then we came home and chilled out and talked and watched some Red Dwarf, which is always fun. Oh! And before they came over Noah and I went in our backyard and played some whiffle ball! That rocked! But I cut the fun short by hitting the ball onto the roof of the garage. Oh well, at least they're cheap and I can buy a new one.

Sunday Noah and I went to lunch with his parents, which I love doing. They're always so chill about everything, which we need with our hectic lives. Then we went on a shopping spree at Target. It was fun mainly because we never do that, so it felt good to flex the shopping muscles. We got some bathroom type stuff, including a new bathmat. I got a bunch of cool t-shirts, and we bought A League of Their Own on DVD. So that was neat. Then we went and walked around the MInneapolis Sculpture Gardens. There were tons of little kids running around, and people lying around sunning themselves. There's one sculpture that's a giant cherry sitting on a spoon. Cool, man. And then there was this one area that had 28 benches, arranged in a square, and each bench had something really weird carved on it. One said something like...

If things were a little different we would digest ourselves through a cut in our mouths. It's good there are provisions for these things.

And another one said something like...

I woke up and my face was wt from tears and I wondered if it was from crying or if it was involuntary, like drooling

Odd stuff, but neat. I have to go back with a camera. So then we walked across the street to the Guthrie Theater and waited in the Rush line, which is so neat, because we got front row tickets for only 12.50 each. We saw Six Degrees of Separation. I really liked that movie, so I thought it would be hard not to criticize the play. At the beginning I thought I would have issues, but as the play went on I totally forgot the movie. It was so well done I couldn't believe it. The major problem now is that I realized I'm kind of an elitist, because the audience reacted in not quite the right way a lot, and it left me wondering how many people were actually getting it. I mean, how many people in the audience will turn the story of the play into an amusing anecdote like the people in the play did with Paul? They won't let it creep in and see what should be learned...that he's not an anecdote, but a person. That we are all a lot closer to each other than we think. That society separates us and we perpetuate it because we don't have any meaning for ourselves outside it. No one has taught us, and so we don't know. It's a good play, that's just the skim of it, and many people won't even get that. It makes me sad.

Anyway, I gotta go. I'll have to talk more about stuff later.

Word Of The Day: interview (I had one)

Any Music On? yeah, some weird computer song on Norm's computer

Rating Of The Day (1-5): 4

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!