rant - July 12, 2006
yeah! - June 01, 2006
work sucks - April 08, 2006
johari/nohari - February 18, 2006
top ten trivia - February 08, 2006

labor day weekend

2002-09-03 - 4:03 p.m.

I talked to one of my favorite friends last night. The reason we talked is bad, and I have never heard him sound like that before, but the talk was good. I like talking to him. I like being reminded that there are more people out there who really understand things...me, definitely, and other things too. I wish I didn't have to see him go through the pain he's in now. If I know people who don't deserve it, he's on top of the list. And I found out that he's biased in my favor too. Maybe that should tell me something. Anyway, talking to him about the major problems was just a fitting end for a crazy weekend.

I got my wisdom teeth pulled on Friday and that was pretty much the most painful thing that has ever happened to me. Noah took really amazing care of me though, provided me with lots of squishy foods, get me hopped up on my drugs, kept me warm and dry and cleaned up my drool, and generally made me feel warm and safe and loved. So I recovered pretty quickly. I'm still tender when I eat. And for some weird reason I have a huge urge to chew gum. I wonder if it's similar to things itching when they heel...it's like a need to push on the points that hurt. But I know it will hurt, so I don't really want to. Weird. Anyway, that was the beginning of my three-day weekend.

Then on Sunday Noah and I left to drive down to Alpine Valley for the Dave Matthews concert. We stayed at a cute little hotel in Jefferson. The concert was amazing, but there were too many people because everyone was standing. See, we had lawn seats, and I was all about the concept of chillin on a blanket on the grass and grooving to Dave. But there were more people than the sitting room allowed, and standing on such a steep hill for two hours sucked. Maybe I'll stick to listening to Dave in bed at night. Maybe I'm getting old. Oh well.

Noah and I had some major breakthroughs last night. We never actually fight, but sometimes we have these weird days that cause us to find out crazy things about each other, and about ourselves. I had one of those momests with him when I said something that I had not realized was true until I heard myself saying it to him. Every once in a while I realize a new, not so obvious way that Andy's death affected me. I miss him terribly. It's hard to reconcile that feeling with loving Noah as much as I do. But I keep trying.

I do miss all my friends, by the way, and I think about you all on a fairly regular basis. But I suck at actually making the step to get in touch and tell you these things, and found out how you are doing. I'm trying to simplify, and unfortunately things and people slip through cracks sometimes. But I love you, in case you were wondering.

Well, it's time to go, finally.

Word Of The Day:

Any Music On?

Rating Of The Day (1-5):

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!