rant - July 12, 2006
yeah! - June 01, 2006
work sucks - April 08, 2006
johari/nohari - February 18, 2006
top ten trivia - February 08, 2006

what I saw

November 09, 2005 - 12:50 pm

It has been forever since I've written in here, but I have to now. I had the most amazing experience last night. I am a very blessed person and have had a lot of amazing experiences, which only makes new ones even cooler, actually.

I had clinicals last night in labor and delivery, and I saw a baby being born!! It was the coolest thing I have ever seen. I actualy saw a new person coming out of her mom! The mom was a real trooper, and baby was healthy, despite a few minor setbacks during delivery. I cried. It's amazing how emotionally attached you can become to people in such a short timte when somethng so momentous is happening.

Then I got to help take care of baby, cleaning up and all that, and helped mom to a bath, and helped her learn to breastfeed. It's amazing. The whole process. Oh, and the second coolest thing I have ever seen is the placenta. Wow. Our bodies are so...perfect.

They caught her first cry on tape. The dad was in tears. It was awesome.

The nurses were kind of teasing me for being so excited, because once you see 2 or 3 a day for a while it gets old, I guess. But I didn't care, I wasn't going to damper my excitement. After a high like that, you'd think I'd want to go into labor and delivery, but no. I want it to always be that exciting, for one thing. And, not all babies are healthy. There was a time when things got a little dodgy, they almost did a c-section, and that wasn't even a big deal. But if the baby had not been healthy I'm not sure what I would have done. I am so grateful for the experience, but I don't want to be there when things don't go well.

Well, after learning in school about all the potential problems with pregnancy and delivery, not to mention normal expectations, and now seeing a baby born, ll this on top of knowing many women with children and being a neice 11 times over...I want to be a mom!! I have always wanted to, and I still do. I can't tell you how many people have tried to persuade me to change my mind. And these people are parents! If you regret your children, that's your problem. Why would anyone try to dissuade another person?? The nurse I was working with the other day, in postpartum, found out I was trying and said, "Maybe after a few days here you'll change your mind." WTF?? Why would you say that? I know what it means tohave kids, I know the process, I know there are ups and downs, I know there can be dangers, on and on and on, I know it. I want it. Desperately.

Word Of The Day: baby

Any Music On? some crazy online radio station

Rating Of The Day (1-5): 4...still floating from yesterday, but at work so not perfect

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!